Korean Cities And Provinces

A Guide To Korean Provinces & The Cities Within Them

South Korea consists of 9 provinces and 7 metropolitan cities. Seoul is the capital of South Korea and boasts the largest population with more than 10 million people!

Metropolitan Cities


  1. Seoul
  2. Incheon
  3. Daejeon
  4. Daegu
  5. Gwangju
  6. Ulsan
  7. Busan


Korean Provinces


Click on a province to view more information



Metropolitan Cities in South Korea

City Symbol Population Brief Description
Seoulseoulsymbol10,300,000 Seoul is the capital city of South Korea with the greater metropolitan area being home to more than 22 million people. Seoul was home to the 1988 Seoul Summer Olympics. Seoul is rich in history and culture and has many annual festivals. Seoul is one of South Korea’s most expensive places to live and serves as the economic engine of the country.

Teach English in Seoul

Busanbusansymbol3,650,000 Busan, also referred to as Pusan, is South Korea’s second largest city. Busan is home to Busan Port ,one of the worlds largest harbours, and a number of world class festivals and tourist attractions.

Teach English in Busan
BIFF – Busan International Film Festival
Busan Tourism Center

Daegudaegusymbol2,700,000 Daegu is South Korea’s third largest city and the self proclaimed fashion capital of the country. Daegu is known for it’s hot summers and trendy markets. Considered to be the home of Korean baseball. Daegu also hosts numerous national and international festivals.

Teach English in Daegu
Daegu Tourism
Daegu Public Transportation

Incheonincheonsymbol1,466,000 Incheon is South Korea’s fourth largest city and is linked to Seoul by the Seoul Metro. Incheon has been a rapidly advancing city over the past few decades which is why much of the city appears newly developed. Incheon is home to some very unique coastal areas and several annual international festivals and events.

Teach English in Incheon
Incheon Tourism
Incheon International Airport

Gwangjugwangjusymbol1,450,000 Gwangju is South Korea’s fifth largest city and is considered one of the major economic, political and cultural centers of South Korea since 57 BC. It’s a very culturaly rich city with home to a large number of festivals and events.

Teach English in Gwangju
Gwangju National Museum
Gwangju Metro (Subway)

Daejeondaejeonsymbol1,440,000 South Korea’s sixth largest city is Daejeon. Daejeon is the capital of South Chungcheong, and home to Expo 93. Daejeon is centrally located in Korea which provides easy travel routes to other regions in the country. There are many relaxing parks throughout Daejeon.

Teaching English In Daejeon
Daejeon Travel Guide
Daejeon Subway

Ulsanulsansymbol1,100,000 South Korea’s smallest metropolitan city is Ulsan. Ulsan is situated on the East Sea (also known as the Sea of Japan) and is home to Ulsan Munsu Football Stadium. Ulsan plays host to numerous annual cultural festivals and events and is known for the beautiful beaches off it’s coast. Ulsan is known for being the worlds largest cargo ship builder.

Teach English in Ulsan
Ulsan Travel Guide